Toggle menu

Cost of living support

Advice and support to help manage the rising cost of living.

Local councils

Aside from Uttlesford District Council there are a number of other authorities in Essex.

County council

Essex County Council provides a wide range of services across the whole of the county. They look after things like education, roads, planning, social care, libraries, waste management and trading standards.

Fire and public safety is the responsibility of the Police and Crime Commissioner for Essex

District, borough and unitary councils in Essex

There are twelve district and borough councils, including Uttlesford, within the area of Essex. They are responsible for services including the collection of Council Tax and Business Rates, housing, local planning, recycling and waste collection, street cleaning, organising elections and maintaining the electoral roll.

In addition there are two unitary authorities. These work as a  single tier of local government and provide all the local services listed above.

Town and parish councils

There are two town councils, 51 parish councils and four parish meetings in the Uttlesford District. Town and parish councils are responsible for local services like allotments, community centres, play areas and neighbourhood plans.