Toggle menu

Cost of living support

Financial advice and emotional support on how you can ease the cost of living squeeze.

Local Housing Allowance (LHA) Qualification criteria and exemptions

If you rent from a private landlord and make a new claim for Housing Benefit, you will be paid Local Housing Allowance (LHA)

The LHA rate is the maximum amount that you can receive. How much you get is usually based on (at the date of the claim):

  • where you live
  • your household size
  • your income - including benefits, pensions and savings (over £6,000)
  • your circumstances

Circumstances which warrant exceptions to standard LHA criteria

  • Disabled claimants became entitled to an extra bedroom in respect of LHA rates for a non-resident carer.
  • Uttlesford District Council can pay Housing Benefit entitlement under the LHA scheme direct to landlords if it will help the tenant to secure a new tenancy or retain a tenancy in their current home at a reduced level of rent.

From 1 January 2012, the applicable LHA rate for people under 35, who are living on their own and claiming housing benefit, is restricted to a shared room rate.

The following groups are exempted from this change:

  • People who are severely disabled (in receipt of a Disablement Benefit)
  • Young people leaving care (under 22)
  • People requiring overnight care
  • People in supported and social housing accommodation
  • Ex-offenders who pose a serious risk to the public
  • Former residents of specialist homeless hostels.

For more information contact the Benefits Team

Go straight to our other related services

Local Housing Allowance (LHA)
Apply for Housing Benefit
Online Benefit Calculators